List of Sponsors (2017 - 2018)

Hawkins IFN logo

Hawkins, Inc. is a progressive concern that manufactures and distributes specialty chemicals and provides functional solutions for a wide variety of industries. The Food Ingredients Group is a leading manufacturer of innovative pathogen control technologies and ingredients for the food industry. The recent formation of Ingredient Works, an entity conceived to capitalize on expertise in functional ingredient applications, food industry knowledge, technical service, and an extensive product portfolio, is focused on the comprehensive science of shelf-life, providing customized solutions to both the common and the highly complex issues faced every day by food manufacturers. The ultimate goal for the Hawkins Food Ingredient Group is to re-define the concept of shelf life and become a complete solution provider to the food industry. (Contribution to sponsor a Phi Tau Sigma Student Achievement Scholarship.)

International Food Network, Inc. is a consultancy based in Ithaca, New York that serves the food, beverage and nutrition industry, providing services in the areas of value optimization, corporate development, mergers & acquisitions and divestitures. Peter Salmon is IFN’s founder and principal.
(Donation to support a Phi Tau Sigma Student Achievement Scholarship.)

Dr. Mary K. Schmidl is the President-Elect of the International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST), a Lifetime Member and a past President of Phi Tau Sigma, a Past President of the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) and Adjunct Professor, University of Minnesota.

Dr. Theodore P. Labuza is a Lifetime Member of Phi Tau Sigma, a Past President of the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) and the Morse Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor of Food Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota.

Dr. Daryl and Mrs. Dawn Lund. Dr. Lund is a past President of Phi Tau Sigma, a Lifetime Member, and current Treasurer; and is an Emeritus Professor, University of Wisconsin. (Contribution to sponsor the Dr. Daryl B. Lund Student International Travel Scholarship.) Dr. Fergus Clydesdale, a Lifetime Member of Phi Tau Sigma, is the Distinguished Professor and Director of the UMass Food Science Policy Alliance, University of Massachusetts Amherst and a member of Phi Tau Sigma since the 1960’s.

Annual Meeting Schedule

We invite you to participate in the Phi Tau Sigma activities during the IFT Annual Meeting. The schedule can be found here.

Dr. Dennis Heldman receiving special recognition award


Every year, Phi Tau Sigma sponsors and organizes several symposiums during the IFT annual meeting. List of the upcoming symposiums are listed here.

Program Committee

Program committee is responsible for identifying and presenting appropriate programs to encourage the long-range professional growth of Phi Tau Sigma