Dr. Carl R. Fellers Award

Purpose: To honor a member of IFT and Phi Tau Sigma who has brought honor and recognition to the profession of food science and technology through a distinguished career in that profession displaying exemplary leadership, service and communication skills that enhance the effectiveness of all food scientists in serving society.

: $3,000 honorarium from Phi Tau Sigma and a plaque from IFT

Eligibility: Nominee must have been an active member of the profession for at least fifteen years before the nomination deadline. Nominees who are not members of Phi Tau Sigma shall be simultaneously elected to Phi Tau Sigma membership by that organization upon selection as recipient of the Carl R. Fellers Award.

In considering the further qualifications of nominees, priority shall be given to a record of achievement in communicating to the profession, to governmental and international agencies and/or to the public scientific information relative to the quality, wholesomeness, safety, nutritive value and other aspects of food and the food supply; in bringing individuals into the profession; and/or in propagating knowledge of the importance of the profession to the public, governmental agencies, and scientific and academic communities.

Special Instructions:
 The Nomination Statement must not be more than four typed pages.

(Source: IFT)

Past Winners of the Dr. Carl R Fellers Award

  • 2017 S. Suzanne Nielsen
  • 2016 Gary List
  • 2015 David Patrick Green
  • 2014 H. Russell Cross
  • 2013 Dennis R. Heldman
  • 2012 Mary K. Schmidl
  • 2011 Christine Bruhn
  • 2010 Anthony W. Kotula
  • 2009 Kathryn L. Kotula
  • 2008 Robert B. Gravani
  • 2007 Ken Lee
  • 2006 Daniel Y.C. Fung
  • 2005 Philip E. Nelson
  • 2004 Barbara O. Scheeman
  • 2003 Daryl B. Lund
  • 2002 J. Ralph Blanchfield
  • 2001 Myron "Mike" Solberg
  • 2000 Dane T. Bernard
  • 1999 Manfred Kroger
  • 1998 Roy G. Arnold
  • 1997 Paul F. Hopper
  • 1996 Susan K. Harlander
  • 1995 Fergus M. Clydesdale
  • 1994 John H. Litchfield
  • 1993 Gideon E. Livingston
  • 1992 Gilbert A. Leveille
  • 1991 David R. Lineback
  • 1990 Richard L. Hall
  • 1989 Frederick J. Francis
  • 1988 Owen R. Fennema
  • 1987 Roy E. Morse
  • 1986 Edwin M. Foster
  • 1985 Bernard S. Schweigert
  • 1984 Emil Mrak

Lifetime Membership

We are committed to serving our members and the food science profession. Show your commitment to Phi Tau Sigma today by becoming a lifetime member.

Professional Membership

Please join us as a professional member if you have a degree in food science and related field and experience working in the field.

Student Membership

If you currently enrolled in food science or related degree program and meet certain criteria, the student membership is best suited for you.